Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Virtual Book Tour with Lori Ryan and her new release Legal Ease. Excerpt, Giveaway and Review

Legal Ease (Sutton Capital #1)
by Lori Ryan
Contemporary Romantic Suspense
Publisher: Self/Indie
Release Date: April 18, 2013
Heat Level: Steamy
Length: 150 pages


Available at:



Description:
Jack Sutton is a man who's used to getting his way. So when his mother's will forces his hand, he does the only thing he can. Jack cuts a deal with the confident, sexy law school student who walks into his office with a proposition he can't refuse.

The deal may have kept Jack in control at Sutton Capital but his private life quickly spirals out of control. Just when Jack realizes that he wants more than a year with Kelly, his wealth puts her in great danger and he is left scrambling to save her life and their future together.

Warning: This title is intended for readers over the age of 18 as it contains adult sexual situations and/or adult language, and may be considered offensive to some readers.

"Breathless" "Couldn't put it down" "Captivating and steamy" "Loved it!!!!!"

With 4.6 of 5 stars on Amazon reviews, you can't go wrong with this new romance novel by Lori Ryan. Fans of Bella Andre or Marie Force will love the first installment of this new romance series!

About the Author:
Lori is an award winning author and stay-at-home mom. Her second book, Penalty Clause, won first place in the romance category in Lcuky Cinda Publishing’s Annual Global Writer’s Contest in 2013.

Lori has had a number of careers before embarking on her newest adventure of writing novels. After graduating from the University of Connecticut School of Law, she practiced law for three years, working primarily in the areas of utilities law and intellectual property litigation.

More recently, Lori owned and operated a dog training business in Austin, Texas, where she specialized in aggression and became an expert in the field of dog bite analysis. Lori sold her dog training business in 2013 and is now a full time writer and mother of two.

Lori still lives in Austin with her husband -- who is endlessly supportive of her changing career paths -- and her two children, one cat, and three dogs.

Connect with Lori Ryan

Want to be a part of Lori’s online street team? Email her at Loriryanauthor@gmail.com and put the words ‘street team’ in the subject line. She’ll email you back with directions for joining her team.




Excerpt Two

Kelly did a double take. The woman had stepped out of the pages of a fashion magazine. It was Caroline Harridan, the fashion model. The woman graced the pages of Vogue and Elle magazines on a regular basis.

Kelly looked at Jack as Caroline approached the table and saw a pained look on his face. Caroline completely ignored Kelly as she swooped in on Jack and planted an extremely friendly kiss on his lips. Kelly felt as though she were completely invisible and almost wished she was. They clearly had a relationship that was more than just friendly and Kelly knew she couldn’t hold a candle to this woman as she sat there in her dowdy strappy sundress and sandals.

Kelly cleared her throat and peered around the woman to Jack.

“Oh! Caroline, this is my wife, Kelly. Kelly, this is Caroline Harridan. An old, uh, friend of mine.” Jack stood and came around to Kelly’s seat as he made the introductions so Kelly stood with him and took Caroline’s hand in a brief handshake. Jack looked like the last thing he wanted to be doing was introducing Kelly as his wife and once again Kelly felt a pang of guilt at having put Jack in this position. Even though he said she was saving him from losing his company, she still felt like she had weaseled her way into the marriage and she knew she was nothing like the woman he would likely have married if he had been given a choice.

Nonetheless, Kelly drew up her pride and smiled her brightest smile. “It’s a pleasure to meet you.”

Caroline raised an eyebrow at Jack. God, Kelly had always wished she could master the one eyebrow look, but she couldn’t quite get it. On Caroline, it looked confident, cocky, and oh so silky smooth. “Married?” Caroline asked Jack as she drew her hand away from Kelly as if afraid she might be sullied by the contact.

Jack nodded and slipped his arm around Kelly. “Yes, Caroline. Kelly and I were married a week ago. We haven’t quite gotten around to sending an announcement out about the wedding. We eloped.” Jack smiled down at Kelly as he said it in a very good impression of a man deeply in love with his wife.

Caroline pouted her best model pout and turned to Jack. “Jack Sutton off the market? Whatever will all of us single gals do now?” She put on a show as if she were thinking and then shrugged her shoulders and continued in a flirty voice.

“Well, maybe it won’t last.” Caroline reached out and pretended to brush an imaginary piece of lint off of Jack’s shirt in a blatant excuse to touch his chest. “You always know where to find me if things don’t work out.” Kelly had now seen Jack uncomfortable twice since she’d known him. Caroline ignored Jack’s discomfort and Kelly’s shocked look.

Kelly couldn’t believe what she was hearing. Hell, the marriage might be fake and she might not be able to compete with Jack’s exes, including the blond goddess standing in front of her, but she’d be damned if she were going to sit by and let this woman hit on her fake husband right in front of her. A woman has her pride, after all.

Kelly possessively caressed Jack’s chest in the very spot where Caroline’s hand had just sat, and smiled at Caroline. “I’m sure Jack won’t be needing your….” She paused and looked Caroline up and down as if she found her wanting in all manner before continuing, “Your…uh, company in the near future, Caroline. But it was a pleasure to meet you. Good-bye.” And with that, Kelly dismissed Caroline Harridan, super model and cover girl.

Jack laughed and pulled Kelly tighter to him. In a huff, Caroline turned and stalked away from the table. As soon as they took their seats again, Kelly felt the heat climbing her cheeks.

“I’m so sorry,” she whispered across the table to Jack.

“What for?” Jack whispered back, smiling.

“I’m sorry. You probably wanted to see her again after this is over and I think I must have just ruined your chances for that. I just thought… Well, I just couldn’t. I mean, she was just so rude, I just….” Kelly blew out a puff of air, blowing her bangs up in a small gust. “I’m sorry, I just didn’t think.”

“Kelly, first of all, I’m married to you for the next year.” Jack spoke quietly so no one would overhear their conversation, but also gently so that Kelly would understand that he meant what he said. “I won’t embarrass you or treat you with disrespect during that time. While we’re together, we’re together and I won’t be with another woman, even if you and I aren’t exactly together in the traditional sense.”

Jack continued as Kelly stared at him with wide eyes. “But, second, that woman drives me up the wall. We dated briefly. We went out a handful of times over the period of a month or so and she has stalked me ever since. Lord knows how she knew we were here today but you can bet it wasn’t a coincidence. She shows up at events and fundraisers and throws herself at me because she’s determined to marry a wealthy man and she couldn’t care less that we had nothing in common and no spark whatsoever between us. You can chase her away any time you’d like,” Jack finished with a smile and a wink at Kelly.

“Hmm,” Kelly said, frowning.

Jack laughed. “What now?”

“You didn’t have a spark with that?” Kelly said, looking toward the door Caroline had walked out of moments before. “How could you not sizzle with that?”

Jack looked at the door and back to Kelly and shrugged. “Just didn’t. She’s pretty vacant. Just a big old empty package with a huge bow but not a damn thing inside the box.”



My 5 Star Review

I received the book from the touring host for an honest review.

A wonderful romance novel I enjoyed in one sitting. From the moment I started to read I just could not put it down. Great plot, interesting characters and the romance, boy old boy!!!
Well written and fast paced you are introduced to Jack Sutton and Kelly Bradley. Each with their own reasons for doing what needs to be done, each refusing to accept the immediate love between them, seeking all or nothing. With a jealous aunt and stalker the tension grew to give you a wonderful read.
Jack, the CEO of a family company was used being in control, his orderly world running smoothly with his best friends Andrew and Chad at his side. Their support valuable and sincere till the end. Romantic and passionate this man opened the way for her to believe him, trust him and....get the book, really. You will not be disappointed. **smile**
Kelly's feisty and innocence persona held you while you learn more about her, her friends and her family. Doing the most unexpectedly which changed the direction of her life...forever. Clever but without conceit she simply did what she had to do to secure her future. Receiving more than she hoped for.
The looming danger of a stalker in the background holding your breath, hoping that Jack and his team will do what needs to be done. Human trafficking is a very real issue. 
I loved aunt's Mabry revealed moment as she realized the power of forgiveness and the grip she was in. Releasing her to become the woman Jack knew she was.
An excellent read till the end.



GIVEAWAY INFO: 
Prize is a $25 Amazon Gift Card. 
Contest is tour-wide, open internationally and ends Oct 21. 
Must be 18 years of age or older to enter.




6 comments:

  1. This is such a wonderful book. In fact, several of Lori's books, that I have read, have drawn me in. Her writing style is amazing. I look forward to reading more from this talented author.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, Mindy! And, thank you, Lynelle for hosting me and reviewing my book!

      Lori

      Delete
    2. Great pleasure Lori. The moment I have time I want to read the other books in the series.

      Delete
    3. Yes she is very talented Mindy, thanks for stopping by. Happy reading.

      Delete
  2. The book sounds good. I have not read anything from her but I will now she id on my to read list.thank you for givaway

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for stopping by Felicia, I know I enjoyed the book. Happy reading.

      Delete